Tag Archives: 2012 Iditarod

2012 Iditarod: Picture from the Finish Line

Dallas Seavey holds his leaders, Diesel, left, and Guiness after he arrived at the finish line to claim victory in the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race in Nome, Alaska, on Tuesday, March 13, 2012. Seavey is the youngest musher to win the nearly 1,000-mile race across Alaska. ((AP Photo/Marc Lester, Anchorage Daily News))
Not sure who looks happier – the dogs or 2012 Iditarod Champ Dallas Seavey.

2012 Iditarod: And we have a winner!

Team Seavey, courtesy Washington Post
Congratulations to Dallas Seavey, the youngest musher to have ever won the Iditarod, who passed under the burled arch in Nome just before 7:30 last night. Alliy Zirkle came in second, about an hour behind Seavey, followed by Ramey Smyth, Aaron Burmeister, Peter Kaiser, and Ray Redington, Jr. The Red Lantern remains lit for the remaining 47 competitors.
Continue reading 2012 Iditarod: And we have a winner!

2012 Iditarod Standings as of 9:52 AM on 3/13/12

They’re having a heat wave in Alaska today. It’s all the way up to minus two degrees in Koyuk.

Race leaders Dallas Seavey and Alliy Zirkle have left White Mountain after completing their final required 8-hour rest period. The remainder of the top five are in at White Mountain: Ramey Smyth arrived at 2:17 am, Aaron Burmeister at 3:50 am, and Peter Kaiser at 6:55 am, so apparently all have chosen this rest stop as their 8-hour layover.
Continue reading 2012 Iditarod Standings as of 9:52 AM on 3/13/12