Iditarod Standings as of 3/8/14

Photo courtesy
Photo courtesy

The leaders in the 2014 Iditarod are about 2/3s of the way done, having made it through Kaltag.

The leader board shows Aliy Zirkle in the lead, having left Kaltag just after 3 am. She was followed by Martin Buser at 5:34, Nicolas Petit at 7:14, Sonny Lindner and Jeff King, who both left the checkpoint at 8:32. All have completed both their 8-hour and their 24-hour layovers.

Kaltag is 629 miles from the start in Anchorage. The race ends in Nome, 975 miles from the start.

Those of you who follow this annual race may remember that Zirkle finished 2nd last year, followed by King in 3rd place, Petit in 6th, and Lindner in 9th. Last year’s winner, Mitch Seavey, is currently running in 6th place, having left Kaltag about an hour after Lindner and King.

Learn more about the history of the Iditarod, and find up-to-the minute results on I’ll try to update you at least once a day.

Until next time,
Good day, and good dog!

Similar Posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *